Latest Articles

The Shard Cup hosts a monthly tournament on the second weekend of every month (this varies if we get significant prior warning). The first five tournaments will run up to a final tournament that will only include those who qualified through the previous events.

Schedule for Season 5

The Blood Cup: January 14th, 2017
The Diamond Cup sponsored by Tecnophi: March 12th, 2017
The Ruby Cup sponsored by April 9th, 2017
The Sapphire Cup by BroomBot: May 20th, 2017
The Wild Cup sponsored by The Dragonborn: July 8th, 2017
The Cup of Fate sponsored in part by Hacky, Germans Unleashed, Anonymous, and (your name here!): August 19th, 2017

All season 5 tournaments, except the Cup of Fate, will occur within the Hex client.

For Season 5 of the Shard Cup series, the Cup of Fate will host 64 players (determined by points) and be a double elimination tournament with seeded brackets. The higher seeded player will get to go first in the first game of each match.

Qualifying Cups

Each of the shard cups will earn participants points in order to qualify for the final: the Cup of Fate. Standings will determine seeding for the final tournament. Each tournament awards the following points:

  • 1st: 15 points
  • 2nd:13 points
  • 3rd/4th: 11 points
  • 5th-8th: 9 points
  • 9th: 8 points
  • 10th-16th: 6 points
  • 17th-32nd: 4 points
  • 33rd-64th: 2 points
  • 65th+: 1 point

The final tournament will use a point and tie-breaker threshold to determine qualifying players and seeding. Seeding will determine who gets the choice of drawing or playing first in each match of the final tournament. The first tie-breaker will be number of cups played in (higher number of cups leading to higher ranks), followed by average placement in tournaments (lower numbers lead to higher ranks), and finally placement variance (high numbers lead to higher ranks).



In season 5, all tournaments are going to be in client and all will be constructed with all sets legal. Generally, if capable in the future, we would plan to run the following:

The Blood Cup: Constructed (Standard Constructed)
The Diamond Cup: Constructed (Standard Constructed)
The Ruby Cup: Constructed (Immortal Constructed)
The Sapphire Cup: Limited (Standard constructed, cut to top 8 draft)
The Wild Cup: Chapter Wars
The Fate Cup: Constructed (Standard Constructed), Double elimination


Past Shard Cup Seasons (including sponsors and winners)

Season 1
Season 2
Season 3
Season 4


%d bloggers like this: