Latest Articles

Shard Cup Season 4 hosts a monthly tournament on the second weekend of every month (this varies if we get significant prior warning). The first five tournaments will run up to a final tournament that will only include those who qualified through the previous events.

Schedule for Season 4

The Blood Cup: June 11th, 2016 – won by FunnyFatGuy
The Diamond Cup sponsored by Tecnophi: July 9th, 2016 – won by Metronomy
The Ruby Cup: August 13th, 2016 – won by Arrgh
The Sapphire Cup: September 11th, 2016 – won by Levis
The Wild Cup Sponsored by Rated Hex: October 9th, 2016 – won by kitkat
The Cup of Fate sponsored by Colin: November 12, 2016 – won by Revolution

All season 4 tournaments, except the Cup of Fate, will occur within the Hex client.

For Season 4 of the Shard Cup series, the Cup of Fate will host 64 players (determined by points) and be a double elimination tournament with seeded brackets. The higher seeded player will get to go first in the first game of each match.

Qualifying Cups

Each of the shard cups will earn participants points in order to qualify for the final: the Cup of Fate. Standings will determine seeding for the final tournament. Each tournament awards the following points:

  • 1st: 15 points
  • 2nd:13 points
  • 3rd/4th: 11 points
  • 5th-8th: 9 points
  • 9th: 8 points
  • 10th-16th: 6 points
  • 17th-32nd: 4 points
  • 33rd-64th: 2 points
  • 65th+: 1 point

The final tournament will use a point and tie-breaker threshold to determine qualifying players and seeding. The first tie-breaker will be number of cups played in (higher number of cups leading to higher ranks), followed by average placement in tournaments (lower numbers lead to higher ranks), and finally placement variance (high numbers lead to higher ranks).


In season 4, all tournaments are going to be in client and all will be constructed with all sets legal. Generally, if capable in the future, we would plan to run the following:

The Blood Cup: Constructed (all available sets)
The Diamond Cup: Constructed (latest set only or Block)
The Ruby Cup: Constructed (all available sets)
The Sapphire Cup: Limited (if feasible through the client; otherwise constructed)
The Wild Cup: Format’s Wild (each wild cup can have a different format, it may include options like Highlander, Tribal, or another format).
The Fate Cup: Constructed (all available sets), Double elimination

%d bloggers like this: