Latest Articles

Shard Cup Season 3 hosts a monthly tournament on the second weekend of every month (this varies if we get significant prior warning). The first five tournaments will run up to a final tournament that will only include those who qualified through the previous events.

Schedule for Season 3

The Blood Cup: December 12th – Won by Koma
The Diamond Cup presented by Tecnophi: January 9th-10th – Won by Future
The Ruby Cup: February 13th – Won by Revolution
The Sapphire Cup: March 12th – Won by Voices
The Wild Cup presented by the Dragonborn Guild: April 9-10th – Won by iamhero
The Cup of Fate presented by Colin: May 14th (Invite Only) – Won by Enyma

For Season 3��of the Shard Cup series, the Cup of Fate will host 64 players (determined by points) and be a double elimination tournament with seeded brackets. The higher seeded player will get to go first in the first game of each match.

Qualifying Cups

Each of the shard cups will earn participants points in order to qualify for the final: the Cup of Fate. Standings will determine seedings for the final tournament. Each tournament awards the following points:

  • 1st: 15 points
  • 2nd:13 points
  • 3rd/4th: 11 points
  • 5th-8th: 9 points
  • 9th: 8 points
  • 10th-16th: 6 points
  • 17th-32nd: 4 points
  • 33rd-64th: 2 points
  • 65th+: 1 point

The final tournament will use a point and tie-breaker threshold to determine qualifying players and seeding. The first tie-breaker will be number of cups played in (higher number of cups leading to higher ranks), followed by average placement in tournaments (lower numbers lead to higher ranks), and finally placement variance (high numbers lead to higher ranks).


We are still developing how the tournament will evolve, but we do want consistency from one cup season to the next. Our preliminary expectations are the following formats for each cup.

The Blood Cup: Constructed (all available sets)
The Diamond Cup: Constructed (latest set only or Block)
The Ruby Cup: Constructed (all available sets)
The Sapphire Cup: Limited (if feasible through the client; otherwise constructed)
The Wild Cup: Format’s Wild (each wild cup can have a different format, it may include options like Highlander, Tribal, or another format).
The Fate Cup: Constructed (all available sets), Double elimination.

Past Shard Cup Seasons (including sponsors and winners)

Season 1
Season 2

%d bloggers like this: