Latest Articles

Shard Cup Season 1

Historical Season 1 Information will host a monthly tournament on the second weekend of every month. The first five tournaments will run up to a final tournament that will only include those who qualified through the previous events.


The Blood Cup: December 20th, 2014 – won by Xantosch
The Diamond Cup presented by Tecnophi: January 10th, 2015 – won by Kindmime
The Ruby Cup presented by Rise of the Dead Prince: February 14th, 2015 – won by Cirouss
The Sapphire Cup presented by Colin: March 14th, 2015 – won by Dameneon
The Wild Cup presented by the Dragonborn Guild: April 11th, 2015 – won by LakosPolan, Zebuli, and SaDOlution
The Cup of Fate presented by Colin: May 9th, 2015 (Invite only) – won by BlackRoger

Qualifying Cups

Each of the shard cups will earn participants points in order to qualify for the final: the Cup of Fate.  Standings will determine seedings for the final tournament.  Each tournament awards the following points:

  • 1st: 15 points
  • 2nd:13 points
  • 3rd/4th: 11 points
  • 5th-8th: 9 points
  • 9th: 8 points
  • 10th-16th: 6 points
  • 17th-32nd: 4 points
  • 33rd-64th: 2 points
  • 65th or higher: 1 point
  • No-shows: 0 points

Note: The Challonge standings may not be the final standings as their tie-breakers for lower ranked players are not quite what we expect. As such, we may have to manually reseed the rankings at the end of a tournament.

The final tournament will use a point and tie-breaker threshold to determine the number of players and seeding.  The first tie-breaker will be number of cups played in, followed by average placement in tournaments, and finally placement variance.


We are still developing how the tournament will evolve, but we do want consistency from one cup season to the next.  Our preliminary expectations are the following formats for each cup.

The Blood Cup: Constructed (all available sets)
The Diamond Cup: Constructed (latest set only or Block)
The Ruby Cup: Constructed (all available sets)
The Sapphire Cup: Limited (if feasible through the client; Season 1 is Standard Constructed)
The Wild Cup: Format’s Wild (Each wild cup can have a different format, it may include options like Highlander, Tribal, or another format). Season 1 is Team Format
The Fate Cup: Constructed (all available sets)

%d bloggers like this: